11 “Brave” Lawmakers Who Voted For The ABS-CBN Franchise Renewal


On July 10, 2020, the House panel rejected ABS-CBN’s petition for a 25-year franchise renewal. After hearings that took place month-long at the House of Representatives, with ABS-CBN defending cases made against them, 85 representatives had the ultimate call of the fate of the company and the 11,000 employees who depend on them.

Out of 85 representatives, only 11 were in favor of the ABS-CBN franchise renewal while 70 were against the franchise renewal. Whereas, 2 representatives inhibited their votes and 1 abstained. Here are some things you may not have known about each of the 11 lawmakers who are for the franchise renewal.

1. Sol Aragones (Laguna 3rd District)

Photo Credit: House Members/Congress.gov.ph

From 1998 to 2012, Sol Aragones was an employee of ABS-CBN. She served as a news reporter for ABS-CBN News and Current Affairs. ***She is currently the chairperson of the committee on Tourism and the Vice-Chairperson of the Committee on Women and Gender Equality****. She principal authored 43 house authored bills, one of which being the SOGIE bill.