Sunday, August 14, 2022

PRRD To Join Presidential Retirees On June 30

PRRD To Join Presidential Retirees On June 30


How do you feel about this story?


When President Rodrigo R. Duterte turns over the reins of government to president-elect Ferdinand “Bongbong” Marcos Jr. on June 30, he will cease to be the No. 1 citizen of the Philippines but will become a member of the distinguished association of government retirees.

This is the exclusive group composed of living former Philippine executives. It is considered exclusive and distinct because membership in it is not open to all 110 million Filipino citizens.

It has three members at present – former presidents Fidel V. Ramos (June 30, 1992 to June 30, 1998); Joseph E. Estrada (June 30, 1998 to Jan. 20, 2001); and Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo (Jan. 21, 2001 to June 30, 2010).

The group used to have four members but its youngest and fourth member, former president Benigno S. Aquino III (June 30, 2010 to June 30, 2016) died on June 24, 2021.

After the return of Duterte, the country’s 16th president, as a private citizen on June 30, the group will again have four members.

The oldest among the three living presidential retirees is Ramos who turned 94 years old on March 18.

The second eldest is Estrada, 85, and the youngest is Macapagal-Arroyo, 75.

The other deceased former Philippine presidents were: Emilio F. Aguinaldo (1898-1901); Manuel L. Quezon (1935-1944); Jose P. Laurel (1943-1945); Sergio S. Osmeña Sr. (1944-1946); Manuel A. Roxas (1946-1948); Elpidio R. Quirino (1948-1953); Ramon F. Magsaysay (1953-1957); Carlos P. Garcia (1957-1961); Diosdado P. Macapagal (1961-1965); Ferdinand E. Marcos Sr. (1965-1986); and Corazon C. Aquino (1986-1992).

Of them, only Aguinaldo did not have the privilege to reside in Malacañang due to his being a wartime president during the American occupation of the Philippines.

He was only able to enter Malacañang as a prisoner of then Gen. Arthur MacArthur after his capture by American soldiers in Palanan, Isabela in March 1901.

According to the Malacañang Presidential Museum and Library, Malacañang only became the official residence of the Philippine president during the time of Commonwealth President Quezon in 1935.

It used to be the residence of the Spanish governors-general and American civil governors- general in the Philippines. (PNA)

Latest News


The Talk

More Stories

Trade Fair Helps Antique MSMEs Market Local Products

Antiqueños are encouraged to patronize local products as the province joins in the national observance of the Buwan ng Wika celebration this August.

DOLE: Recipients Of Government Aid In Quake-Hit Areas Top 16K

Over 16,000 individuals have benefited from the PHP128.9 million worth of financial assistance released by the government in areas affected by the magnitude 7 earthquake in Northern Luzon.

Negros Occidental, Diocese Of Bacolod Partner For Tree-Growing Project

The Negros Occidental provincial government partnered with the Diocese of Bacolod for a tree-growing project that will be carried out by students from various schools in the province.

Pangasinan Records 3.5M Tourist Arrivals In Q1

The Pangasinan Provincial Tourism and Cultural Affairs Officer has recorded an increase of 80 percent in tourist arrivals this year.

Bacolod Kids Urged To Get Vaxxed For In-Person Classes

Bacolod City Health Office advises parents to vaccinate their children against the coronavirus as a precautionary measure before opening classes this August.